imalex's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

House Hunting

I can't decide if I will like living downtown more than living somewhere close to South Keys. Close to school or close to everything I love about Ottawa?

The real problem is more or less just trying to find affordable housing. Or the fact that most place that listed right now are located in South Keys area, not downtown. Michelle says we'll make the decisions when we physically go to the places, which makes sense to her(and I suppose the others), but for me I don't exactly have trouble navigating the transit system in Ottawa. I guess I have an advantage, having spent much more time in this city than they have, and having visited family here every summer and Christmas my whole life.

Still, things that seems an easy decision to me aren't easy for everyone else. I suggested living in this area of townhouses close to where Michelle works, but it would mean we need to take a bus and the train for aprox. 30 minutes to get to school. But in reality, how different is that from any other place we've lived in this city? None. It's just an area none of us are super familiar with, yet.

The simple fact is, because of where we're all looking to live, the transit isn't going to be as easy as it is now. It's Ottawa! There is a canal and a river winding it's way through the city along with two high ways, it's bloody awful to try and get anywhere in this city by transit. It's a great city for cyclists and those who enjoy a good walk.

I guess my real problem at the moment is simply trying to get the ball rolling, and for all of us to start making phone calls to see some places. Because I'm more concerned with the house itself and price than where it's freaking located. $300 plus utilities sounds a lot nicer than $450 plus utilities. And it's time they woke up a bit and realized it's going to freaking hard to find a place that's suitable to us downtown and available in September.

1:56 p.m. - 2013-06-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

newschick
lust-
catsoul
englishsucks
rhetoric
nationless
loveherwell
elusive-you
duplicitous
lostasyou
cymbals
imatwin