imalex's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Fools

The problem is, I care far too much about politics, while hating it all the same. I'll sit down and read article after article, book after book, just eating up it all and forming a perspective. Then I'll just latch onto the first person I see and blab on about it. And if I don't see anyone, I'll call my sister or dad. I just get so concerned whether or not people actually realise how shit things are. Because people just get so consumed by the economic and social system in place, that they become blind to the actual cause or consequences.

I used to think studying history and religion would help me understand the world, and therefore be able to come to terms with it all. But instead its made me even more unhappy. I cannot be oblivious to the world, and I certainly cannot hide myself in books. Unlike my friends, who spend their days learning about atoms and particles, or bio-chem, I spend my time reading about reality. About destruction and construction. My friend explains he could never study history because its too focused on the past, and is not about moving forward. But really, what he is doing is just ignoring the reality of things. Ignoring what the history has led up to, and hiding himself in science, behind theories and invisible things. Science does not create peace. It does not create truth. It only darkens our reality. Reminds us that society is just creation, and that really we are all in a state of survival.

Perhaps I am a romantic. Damn, I am a romantic. I'm passionate, and opinionated. But as a white, middle-class citizen, I can never know true opression in Canada, or really anywhere in the world. I can feel different, but I'll never have a true understanding of being a minority. At least, not in this age. Maybe in a few hundred years, things will change. I have no idea. But not in my lifetime.

So when I sit down in that classroom, and start discussing the reasoning behind the partition of India, or the tension between Quebec and English-Canada, I can feel my cynacism rise. We are all just a bunch of fools.

1:54 p.m. - 2012-11-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

newschick
lust-
catsoul
englishsucks
rhetoric
nationless
loveherwell
elusive-you
duplicitous
lostasyou
cymbals
imatwin