imalex's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Language

It kills me when my roommate makes fun of people for mispronouncing English words. Specifically when the speaker's first language is not English. Or they speak in a different dialect from we, Canadians. I do not judge her for this, because she has no context, but it still really bothers me.

Possibly my sensitivity comes from being dyslexic or because my family is French-Canadian, and I grew up with friends who have parents of other nationalities and collectively our accents or pronunciations all varied (correct or incorrect).

10:37 p.m. - 2013-01-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

newschick
lust-
catsoul
englishsucks
rhetoric
nationless
loveherwell
elusive-you
duplicitous
lostasyou
cymbals
imatwin