imalex's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-

Some times I find it hard to relate to my male friends who come from a different world. And it's not just because of the country they come from, but their religion and social class. It's something I'll never share with them. They all went to international schools. Their parents make good money. They have a home to go to, if they choose. They also have a hope going forward. They are so smart, and good at what they do.

They don't know what its like to stumble to your apartment drunk, full of self-loathing. They don't know what its like to lie on your bed, wasted, crying, and feeling dead inside. They've never lost all their dignity. They've never lost their minds. And while they have their faults, the things that make them human, it isn't stopping them from becoming who they should be. Who they want to be.

And this is why I feel all alone sitting next to them. Not because I'm a woman. Maybe because I'm a woman. But mostly because we're from different worlds. I grew up thinking I'd be lucky if I ever left my hometown. I never thought I would make it into University. I never thought I'd make it to my twentieth birthday, I thought I would've snapped long before it. And you would think that because I've done these things I would be much better off. I'd have more faith. But the truth is, just because I did all that, doesn't mean I'm going anywhere.

12:51 a.m. - 2013-04-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

newschick
lust-
catsoul
englishsucks
rhetoric
nationless
loveherwell
elusive-you
duplicitous
lostasyou
cymbals
imatwin