imalex's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Care

Sometimes when I sit in the living room, I turn all the lights off. I lie down on the couch, and stare up through the window to look at the sky. And when I am done looking at the sky, I move my attention to the apartments. The lights shine brightly in some of them, and in others the light is shaded, masked by curtains and blinds. Sometimes I will see the lights on in apartments all night long. And sometimes I never see the lights on in others. And my mind wanders... who are these people? What are their lives like? Are they students like me? Or are they families? Maybe they live alone? Are they young? Are they old? What are their lives like? Why did they choose to live here?

Sometimes I just like to sit and stare at people. Wonder who these people are, and where they are from. What have they done? What are their dreams? What are their hopes? I make up stories in my head. I dream up these identities, and I feel for their struggles, and I am proud of their triumphs. I see people, and I think about them. And I care for as long as my heart and mind can hold on to their face. And then they are gone. And we both move on.

I do this... because I need to feel like someone is thinking of others. Of strangers and of people they know personally. I think of everyone all the time, and what may lead before them. Because I cannot spend my life thinking that no one cares. Even if the one person in the whole world who does care is only me. Life is just more than that. It has to be. It just fucking has to be.

10:24 p.m. - 2012-09-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

newschick
lust-
catsoul
englishsucks
rhetoric
nationless
loveherwell
elusive-you
duplicitous
lostasyou
cymbals
imatwin