imalex's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Politician

Sometimes when I'm doing my readings for class, and I learn about all this history, I just sort of stop and wish that none of it existed. That the study of society didn't exist. That there was no need for it - no need for understanding perspective and world views. Because it can all be so heavy, and dark, and hard.

I really like reading and researching because for myself, I can understand. I just want to understand everything. And understand when things aren't meant to be understood.

My friends ask me why I don't participate in more political things, or write more op-ed stuff. But it's because I don't want to put my opinion out there. There are enough opinions floating around, and often times they can be damaging or exclusive. There is always another side, and a risk of pain.

Often times people forget the human factor. We focus so much on the divisions that it seems impossible to find compromise, to find peace. Why I love history, is because we get to talk about how things were, how and why history has moved forward in its way.

But what I don't love about history, is when people try to decide whether or not it was for the best. It's okay to discuss it because that's allows people to think critically, but often times the grey is forgotten, and people get hurt.

I want to be a person who helps bring peace. Stay out of the politics and listen rather than debate. This isn't about how much I know, it's about what I can do. So just tell me what to do, and I'll try my best, and I will accept it.

3:18 p.m. - 2013-11-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

newschick
lust-
catsoul
englishsucks
rhetoric
nationless
loveherwell
elusive-you
duplicitous
lostasyou
cymbals
imatwin